Odisha News Insight

Steel City Rourkela declared as 2nd Smart City of Odisha

Steel City RourkelaSteel City Rourkela has been declared as the second Smart City of Odisha after Bhubaneswar. It has found a place in the third list of Smart Cities announced by the Union Urban Development Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu on Tuesday.

Rourkela figures among the list of 27 smart cities released  by the Minister. The new smart cities include five cities  from Maharashtra, four  each from Tamil Nadu and Karnataka, three from Uttar Pradesh, two each  from Punjab, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh  and one each from Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Gujarat, Nagaland and Sikkim.

Welcoming the announcement, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik extended his greeting to the residents of the steel city, and promised all help from the state government to turn Rourkela into an ideal smart city. Local MLA Dilip Ray also hailed the Modi Government for timely announcement that would bring multiple developments in the city.

Leave a comment