Odisha News Insight

Truth about Odisha winning Krishi Karman Award

Krishi-Karman-Award-OdishaThe ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik take pride in Odisha winning the Krishi Karman Award repeatedly. Well, this is definitely a big achievement. But, why Odisha keep winning the award in Category II only? Why the state is not trying hard to boost its agriculture production and compete with others in Category I?

* Odisha always received the Krishi Karman Award in Category II for overall foodgrains production. This year, Odisha beat the competition from Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh and Jharkhand. So, Odisha received 1st position among 4 states that took part in the competition.

* There are 3 awards for the Sates with highest foodgrains production in three identified categories (Category I – where production is >10 million tonnes: Category II – where production is between 1 – 10 million tonnes; and Category III – where production is <1 million tonnes).

* Only 12 states had sent their presentation for Krishi Karman Awards 2014-15 – Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Odisha, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal.

Category I – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Haryana.

Category II – Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand.

Category III – Arunchal Pradesh, Nagaland, Meghalaya.

Leave a comment