Odisha News Insight

Two Odias in Team India for FIH Men’s Series Finals

Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas, two prominent international hockey players from Odisha, have obtained a position in the national men’s team for the International Hockey Federation (FIH) Series Finals which will be held at Kalinga Stadium, Odisha, beginning June 6.

The Hockey India announced the 18-member squad for the Olympic qualifier event on 28th May. The Indian team will be led by Manpreet Singh. Expert goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and Krishan B Pathak will defend India’s goalpost while Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas and Gurinder Singh will add to India’s might in the backline. Birendra Lakra is also been named as the vice-captain of the team.