Odisha News Insight

UGC grants Autonomy to four Universities of Odisha

ONI Bureau:  In a historic decision, the University Grants Commission (UGC) has granted autonomy to 62 Higher Educational Institutions which have maintained high academic standards, announced by the Minister of Human Resource Development, Prakash Javadekar on Tuesday.  The Institutions now got freedom in academic and administrative decision-making.

As many as 5 Central Universities, 21 State Universities, 24 deemed Universities, and 2 Private Universities were included in the list.

As per report, the Utkal University, Bhubaneswar, Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), Bhubaneswar, Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar and National Law University, Cuttack were given autonomy.

Others like JNU, TISS, BHU, AMU, O P Jindal Global University, TERI School of Advanced Studies in Delhi, Madras University, Mysore University were also given autonomy.

Leave a comment