Odisha News Insight

Voting begins for 8 ULBs in Odisha

Voting begins for 8 ULBs in OdishaVoting for eight Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) in Odisha is under way since this morning. The eight ULBs include Sunabeda , Paradeep, Bel pahar, Municipalities and Dharamgarh, Balimela, Dasapalla, Redhakhol and Tusura NACs.

In today’s poll, a total of 1, 50,186 voters will cast their franchise and decide the fate of 469 candidates contesting in a total of 129 wards.

The State Election Commission (SEC) has arranged adequate arrangements to conduct a free and fair election. However, the Commission has identified 115 booths as sensitive and 18 are highly sensitive out of a total of 183 booths, where CCTV cameras have been installed to monitor the election proceedings in smoothly.

Besides, in every booth, a presiding officer and three polling officers have been accommodated; and a total of 183 presiding officers and 549 polling officers have been engaged in today’s poll.

The SEC also informed that the counting of votes would begin tomorrow morning and consequently the results would also be announced later in the day.

Leave a comment