Odisha News Insight

Atletico de Kolkata beat Kerala Blasters to win ISL 2014

Kolkata-ISL-2014Mohammad Rafique scores a late goal in the dying minutes to help Atletico de Kolkata beat Kerala Blasters 1-0 in the grand finale in Mumbai. With this Kolkata became the inaugural champions of ISL (Indian Super League). Sourav Ganguly is the owner of Kolkata team, while Sachin Tendular owns Kerala team.

Both Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly were present at the stadium to support their respective teams. Kolkata played like champions throughout the tournament and deserved to lift the trophy. Kerala too played superb football in the tournament, but failed at the last hurdle.

Atletico de Kolkata’s main striker Fikru Teferra was ruled out of the final due to an injury. That helped Kerala to defy Kolkata till the 90th minute of the game. The ISL had kicked off on October 12, 2014. The 70-day sports extravaganza has generated great football fever in the country and turned out to be a huge success.

Leave a comment