Odisha News Insight

CM Naveen Patnaik Announces Cash Rewards For Medal-Winning Olympians From Odisha

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, on Thursday, interacted with the Olympic bound athletes from Odisha. He also announced cash rewards for them.

The Chief Minister also announced cash rewards for those who will return with the medals at the Olympics.

For gold medal winners, Patnaik announced a cash prize of Rs 6 crore. The silver medal winners will get a reward of Rs 4 crore, while those winning bronze will get Rs 2.5 crore.

A total of six athletes from Odisha are participating in the Olympics. Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas, Deep Grace Ekka and Namita Toppo will be representing India in hockey. Dutee Chand has qualified for the 100m and 200m dash while Pramod Bhagat will represent the country in para-badminton.

Naveen Patnaik also announced an award of Rs 15lakh for the athletes who have qualified for their preparation.

Leave a comment