Odisha News Insight

CM Naveen Patnaik confers Biju Patnaik Sports Award

Biju Patnaik Sports Award-Purnima HembramTalented Odia Athlete Purnima Hembram on Monday was conferred with the prestigious Biju Patnaik Sports Award by the Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on the occasion of National Sports Day.

The Chief Minister also felicitated six other Odia girls, who participated in the Rio Olympics including two sprinters- Dutee Chand and Srabani Nanda, four women hockey players from Odisha- Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz and Sunita Lakra.

While Purnima Hembram got Rs 2 lakh for the Biju Patnaik Sports Award for the year 2015, all the six players were given Rs 5 lakh each by the state govenrment.

Meanwhile, Abinash Mishra received Rs 1 lakh for the Biju Patnaik Bravery Award.

Meanwhile, Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) Secretary Ashirbad Behera was awarded the best Sports Organiser Award whereas P Dharma Rao was awarded Best Coach Award. Similarly, Prominent sports journalist Tanmay Das was also felicitated by the Chief Minister.

Leave a comment