Odisha News Insight

Gujarat clinch Syed Mushtaq Ali T-20 Trophy, 2015

Gujrat Cricket TeamIn a nail biting contest, Gujarat on Tuesday defeated Punjab in the final match played at Bhubaneswar KIIT Stadium to clinch the Syed Mushtaq Ali T-20 cricket trophy, 2015.

While Chasing 118, Gujarat made it with two wickets and one ball to spare to win the competition for the second time, thanks to Wicketkeeper and opening batsman Smit patel ‘s unbeaten 50

Earlier Punjab posted 117 for 9 in the stipulated 20 overs. Opener Ravi Inder Singh top scored with 30. For Gujarat, pacer Rohit Dahiya was the pick of the bowlers as he bagged four wickets giving away just 15 runs in 4 fours.

In the second half of the match, Punjab bowlers made life difficult for the Gujarat batsmen in the middle of their innings. However, Smit Patel’s innings helped Gujarat to reach the target on the second last ball of the match. For Punjab, Siddarth Kaul and Taruwar Kohli bagged 2 wickets each.

Odisha Cricket Association Secretary Mr Ashribad Behera graced the occasion as the chief guest and handed over the trophy.

Leave a comment