Odisha News Insight

India complete 3-0 Whitewash vs Sri Lanka in T20I Series

ONI Bureau: The third and final T20I between India and Sri Lanka turned out to be a close contest, thanks to some late onslaught by Lankan bowlers, but that did not prevent Team India from completing a 3-0 Whitewash.

In the Mumbai T20I, India won toss and elected to bowl first. Sri Lanka managed to score 135/7 in 20 overs. Asela Gunaratne was the top scorer with 36, while Dasun Shanaka remained not out on 29. Sadeera Samarawickrama scored 21. For India, Jaydev Unadkat and Hardik Pandya took two wickets each.

Chasing a victory target of 136, India lost Rahul early. Although Rohit Sharma (27), Shreyas Iyer (30) and Manish Pandey (32) built the innings, they departed when things looked solid.

Sri Lanka had little advantage when India slumped to 108/5. But, Dhoni (18*) and Karthik (16*) prevented further damage, as the team reached 139/5 in 19.2 overs and won the match by 5 wickets. This is the first time India have won a T20I series 3-0.

Jaydev Unadkat was declared ‘Player of the Match’ and ‘Player of the Series’.

India ended 2017 on a high, as they remained unbeaten in all bilateral series this year. They have won 37 matches in 2017 in all formats – just one behind Australia record of 38 wins in 2003. Earlier, India defeated Sri Lanka 1-0 in Tests and 2-1 in ODI series.

Leave a comment