Odisha News Insight

India end Bangladesh’s 10-match Winning Streak, win by 77 Runs

Dhoni-IndiaIndia registered a consolation win over Bangladesh in Mirpur to deny them a complete whitewash. They lost the series 2-1. At the same time, they ended the 10-match winning streak of the Bangla team. Bangladesh had won 5 matches against Zimbabwe, 3 against Pakistan and 2 against India – all at home.

Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and elected to field first. They wished to run through the Indian batting line-up yet again, but the Indian batsmen, who played to salvage the lost pride, did well and posted a massive total of 317/6 in 50 overs. Rohit Sharma (29), Shikhar Dhawan (75), Kohli (25), Dhoni (69), Rayudu (44) and Raina (38) were the top scorers.

For Bangladesh, Mortaza 3/76 and Mustafizur 2/57 were the most successful bowlers. Mustafizur equalled the world record (13 wickets) of most wickets in a three match ODI series.

Although Bangladesh started their run chase on a positive note and scored 100 runs in just 15 overs, they lost the way in the middle. The Indian spinners kept a tight control over the Bangla bowlers and bowled them out for 240 in 47 overs. Soumya Sarkar (40), Litton Das (34), Sabbir Rahman (43) and Nasir Hossain (34) were the top scorers.

For India, Suresh Raina was the most successful bowler with 3/35. Dhawan Kulkarni 2/34 and Ashwin 2/35 were the other bowlers who had success in this ODI.

Leave a comment