Odisha News Insight
24x7 News Insights
modi sqr after head

India win Melbourne Test; retain Border-Gavaskar Trophy


ONI Bureau: Team India beat the ‘rain scare’ that delayed the start on Day 5 to register an emphatic 137-run victory in Melbourne Test and take an unassailable 2-1 lead in the series. With this, India have retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Indian bowlers took 4.3 overs to claim the wickets of Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon, as Australia bowled out for 261 in the second innings while chasing 399 to win. Cummins who stood rock solid since yesterday to stretch the game till the final day, scored 63.

For India, Bumrah & Jadeja took 3 wickets each, while Ishant & Shami took 2 wickets each. This is the first time India have won any Boxing Day Test. It was India’s 150th Test victory – 5th team to achieve this milestone.

Jasprit Bumrah was declared ‘Man of the Match’.


India 443/7 declared (Mayank 76, Pujara 106, Kohli 82, Rahane 34, Rohit 63*, Pant 39; Starc 2/87, Cummins 3/72) & 106/8 declared (Mayank 42, Pant 33; Cummins 6/27, Hazlewood 2/22).

Australia 151 (Harris 22, Khawaja 21, Head 20, Paine 22; Bumrah 6/33, Jadeja 2/45) & 261 (Khawaja 33, Marsh 44, Head 34, Paine 26, Cummins 63; Ishant 2/40, Bumrah 3/53, Jadeja 3/82, Shami 2/71).

You might also like