Odisha News Insight

Jagmohan Dalmiya set to become BCCI President Again

imageAfter over a decade, veteran cricket administrator Jagmohan Dalmiya is set to return as chief of the Indian cricket board at the BCCI annual general meeting (AGM) here on Monday.

The former International Cricket Council (ICC) president has emerged as a consensus candidate between the two rival factions of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). While one faction is led by sidelined BCCI president N. Srinivasan, the other is headed by former ICC president Sharad Pawar.

Both have unanimously opted for the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president as their candidate for the election. Dalmiya filed his nomination with support from CAB, the National Cricket Club in Kolkata and four other associations from the east zone.

He was reportedly visited by both factions who asked him to contest for the position of the BCCI president.

Srinivasan was barred by the Supreme Court from contesting the election following the Indian Premier League (IPL) spot fixing scam. He can only vote, when required, as a nominee of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA).

In between, nomination papers for other positions in the board have also been filed. The Srinivasan camp has nominated Sanjay Patel, Anirudh Chaudhry and Amitabh Chaudhary for the posts of secretary, treasurer and joint secretary, respectively.

It is learnt that the Pawar contingent has nominated Anurag Thakur for secretary, Rajiv Shukla for treasurer and Chetan Desai for the post of joint secretary. (IANS)

Leave a comment