Odisha News Insight

Nagpur Test: India win third Test, clinch series 2-0

Nagpur-TestNagpur, Nov 27: India on Friday won the third Test by 124 runs, clinching the four-match series against South Africa 2-0 at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium here.

Resuming the day at 32/2, South Africa were bowled out for 185 in their second innings while chasing a target of 310 runs.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was the star, scalping seven wickets for 66 runs in 29.5 overs. Leg spinner Amit Mishra also chipped in with three wickets.


India (first innings) 215
South Africa (first innings) 79
India (second innings) 173

South Africa (second innings) (overnight 32/2)
Dean Elgar c Pujara b Ashwin 18
Stiaan van Zyl c Rohit b Ashwin 5
Imran Tahir lbw b Mishra 8
Hashim Amla c Kohli b Mishra 39
AB de Villiers lbw b Ashwin 9
Faf du Plessis b Mishra 39
JP Duminy lbw b Ashwin 19
Dane Vilas c Saha b Ashwin 12
Simon Harmer not out 8
Kagiso Rabada c Kohli b Ashwin 6
Morne Morkel b Ashwin 4
Extras (b 9, lb 5, nb 4) 18
Total (all out in 89.5 overs) 185

Fall of wickets: 1-17 (van Zyl 3.1 overs), 2-29 (Tahir 6.5), 3-40 (Elgar 9.5), 4-58 (de Villeirs 12.3), 5-130 (Amla, 69.6), 6-135 (du Plessis, 71.5), 7-164 (Duminy, 81.1), 8-167 (Vilas, 81.6), 9-177 (Rabada, 87.4), 10-185 (Morkel, 89.5)

Ishant Sharma 15-6-20-0
Ravichandran Ashwin 29.5-7-66-7
Ravindra Jadeja 25-12-34-0
Amit Mishra 20-2-51-3

Umpires: Ian Gould (England) and Bruce Oxenford (Australia)
TV umpire: Anil Chaudhary (India)
Match referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)
Reserve umpire: C. Shamshuddin (India)


Leave a comment