Odisha News Insight

No Indian in ICC World Cup Team led by McCullum

ICCAlthough India won seven matches in a row and outplayed teams like Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies before losing out to Australia in the semifinal, not a single Indian cricketer has been included to the ICC’s World Cup XI led by Brendon McCullum (New Zealand).

The ICC World Cup team features five players from New Zealand, three from Australia, two from South Africa and one from Sri Lanka. Brendon Taylor of Zimbabwe, who scored 433 runs in six matches, was named as the 12th man.

In the World Cup 2015, two double hundreds, 38 hundreds, 2 hat-tricks and 28 four-wicket hauls made it a huge success. According to the ICC officials, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and R Ashwin were being considered from India, but they failed to make the cut.

ICC World Cup Team: Martin Guptill (New Zealand), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand, Captain), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, Wicketkeeper), Steven Smith (Australia), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), Corey Anderson (New Zealand), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Morne Morkel (South Africa), Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe, 12th Man).

Leave a comment