Odisha News Insight

Zimbabwe announces 15-Member Squad for India ODIs

Zimbabwe announce 15-Member squad for India ODIsZimbabwe Cricket (ZC) on Thursday announced a 15-member squad for the three One-Day Internationals (ODI) against visiting India ahead of the first match on Friday.

“In terms of balance, we have opted for nine batters, four seamers and two specialist spinners and our objective is to try and win the series. India has picked a strong side and we are taking them seriously,” ZC chief of selectors Givemore Makoni was quoted as saying by ZC.

The team for the following two Twenty20 Internationals will be picked later.

The selectors have made four changes to the squad that toured Pakistan in May. Donald Tiripano, Neville Madziva, Malcolm Waller and Regis Chakabva have been included while Charles Coventry, Craig Ervine, Roy Kaia, Tawanda Mupariva and Christopher Mpofu have been left out.

“Mpofu and Kaia will be considered for the next matches in the series and Charles Coventry is in the mix for the T20I series. Ervine is still nursing a hamstring injury,” Makoni said.

Ervine has undergone a six-week rehabilitation for his hamstring and will undergo a fitness test before his involvement in the India series is determined.

Zimbabwe squad: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Graeme Cremer, Neville Madziva, Hamilton Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Donald Tiripano, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller and Sean Williams. (IANS)

Leave a comment