Odisha News Insight

Odisha Officers suspended under corruption charges:

A statement issued from the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) asserted that Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik issued a regulation as part of the BJD Government’s ‘Zero Tolerance’ towards corruption. So far, the Government has removed 74 officials from the service on charges of corruption from August 2019 till date. This apart, 15 other officials have been served with compulsory retirement notices.

Officials whose pension benefits were stopped include-

  • Senior project manager of OBCC and executive engineer Arun Charan Parida
  • 2 former assistant engineers of Rural Development department Pramod Behera and Brajasundar Patnaik
  • Former executive engineer of Cuttack Municipal Corporation Khageswar Swain
  • former superintending engineer of Roads and Building Division of Sambalpur Bibekananda Mohanty

Further, the government also delivered compulsory retirement to revenue inspectors Ishwari Prasad Purohit of Koksara tehsil in Kalahandi and Arun Kumar Purohit of Birmaharajpur tehsil in Sonepur district. Earlier, both the revenue inspectors were nabbed by Vigilance. These frequent actions against corrupt officers have been taken under the 5T initiative of the state govt.

Leave a comment