Election Commission announces dates for Assembly Polls in 5 States

The Election Commission on Wednesday announced polling dates for 690 seats in 5 States in the Country including, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa.

Uttar Pradesh will go to the polls in seven phases: February 11, 15, 19, 23 and 27 and March 4 and 8.

Elections in Manipur will be held in 2 phases; Phase 1 polling on March 4th and Phase 2 polling will be held on March 8th.

Goa Assembly Polls to be held on 4th February. Elections in Uttarakhand to be held on 15th February in single phase. Elections in Punjab will be held on February 4.

According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Nasim Zaidi, over 60 million voters are expected to vote in the upcoming Assembly Polls.

Out of total 690 constituencies, Uttar Pradesh alone has 403 assembly seats. Goa has 40 seats, Punjab 117, Manipur 60 and Uttarakhand has 70 seats.

The limit for expenses for candidates finalized Rs 28 lakh for UP, Punjab, Uttarakhand & Rs 20 lakh for Manipur and Goa.

Assembly PollsElection CommissionIndiaNasim ZaidiStates