Lok Sabha passes Triple Talaq Bill

ONI Bureau: The much-awaited Triple Talaq Bill, criminalizing the practice of instant triple talaq was passed by Lok Sabha with 245 MPS voting in its favour. Congress, AIADMK, DMK, TMC, BJD, Samajwadi Party and RJD walked out of Rajya Sabha protesting against it.

The above parties wanted to refer the bill to a joint select committee of Parliament. The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill will now be sent to Rajya Sabha where it would find it difficult to get a smooth passage.

Apart from Congress, AIADMK, DMK, TMC, Samajwadi Party and RJD, NCP, AIMIM and BJD are also opposing the bill in its current form. Under the proposed law, giving instant triple talaq will be illegal and void, attracting a jail term of 3 years for the husband.

CongressLok SabhaParliamentTriple Talaq Billwomen