BJP wins Assam, Big setback to Congress

Despite trying hard, the Congress Party failed to stop the BJP onslaught, as Tarun Gogoi could not convince the voters in Assam. BJP is forming the government for the first time in North East.

Out of 126 seats in Assam, BJP is leading in 84 seat, while Congress is leading in just 22 seats, followed by AIUDF (13). Others are leading in 7 seats.

In 2011 polls, BJP had won just 5 seats. During Lok Sabha polls in 2014, they won 7 out of 14 seats. But, this time, they drastically improved their performance. Union Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal is BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate in Assam.

AssamBJPCongressSarbananda Sonowal