India register first-ever ODI Series win in South Africa

ONI Bureau: Team India registered an emphatic 73-run victory over South Africa in the 5th ODI at Port Elizabeth and clinched the series 4-1 with one match to go.

This is the first time India won any ODI series on South African soil. It’s a remarkable achievement against the World No. 1 team too. They started playing South Africa in 1991-92 and first toured that country in 1992-93. They waited for more than 25 years to achieve the glory.

In the 5th ODI today, South Africa won the toss and put India into bat. India posted 274/7 in 50 overs, thanks to Rohit Sharma’s 17th ODI hundred. He scored 115. Shikhar Dhawan made 34, while Virat Kohli scored 36. Shreyas Iyer contributed 30. Lungisani Ngidi took 4 wickets for South Africa.

Chasing a victory target of 276, South Africa started well, when openers Hashim Amla (71) and Markram (32) added 52 runs for the first wicket. But, they kept losing wickets at regular intervals and bowled out for 201 in 42.2 overs. David Miller (36) and Klaasen (39) were the other top contributors.

For India, Kuldeep Yadav took 4 wickets, while Hardik Pandya and Yuzvendra Chahal took 2 wickets each. Rohit Sharma was declared ‘Player of the Match’.

IndiaKuldeep YadavODI SeriesRohit SharmaSouth AfricaVirat Kohli