Odisha News Insight

4 New Governors Appointed, 2 Governors Shunted

Tathagat-RoyThe Centre has appointed four new Governors and transferred two existing Governors in a major reshuffle, mostly aimed at the North Eastern states. Senior BJP leader from West Bengal, Tathagat Roy, has been assigned the charge of Tripura.

Droupadi Murmu, a tribal woman BJP leader from Odisha, has been appointed as the Governor of Jharkhand. She also became the first woman from Odisha to be appointed as Governor. Senior RSS functionary and BJP leader from Tamil Nadu, V Shanmuganathan will be the new Governor of Meghalaya.

Former Chief Secretary of Assam, J P Rakkhowa has been appointed as the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh. Lt Gen(retd) Nirbhay Sharma, who was serving as Governor of Arunachal Pradesh since May 2013, has been transferred to Mizoram. He will continue till 2018.

Jharkhand Governor, Syed Ahmed, who was appointed in September 2011, has been transferred to Manipur for remainder of his term that ends in September 2016. The above appointment will take effect from the dates the incumbents assume charge of their respective offices, a statement from President Pranab Mukherjee’s office said.

Leave a comment