Odisha News Insight

Land bill referred to Joint Committee of Parliament

Land Acquistion BillNew Delhi, May 12 (IANS): The Lok Sabha on Tuesday referred the contentious land acquisition bill to a joint committee of the two houses consisting of 30 members.

The motion was moved by Rural Development Minister Birender Singh after a debate on the bill in the house.

“That the bill further to amend the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (Amendment) Act, 2013 be referred to a joint committee of the house,” he said.

The committee has 20 members from the Lok Sabha and 10 from the Rajya Sabha. The minister said the committee will give its report by the first day of the monsoon session.

The Lok Sabha recommended to the Rajya Sabha to join the committee and communicate the name of its members.

The 20 members include members from the BJP, Congress, Biju Janata Dal, Telugu Desam Party, AIADMK, Communist Party of India-Marxist, Trinamool Congress, Shiv Sena, Lok Janshakti Party, Telangana Rashtra Samithi and YSR Congress Party.

Leave a comment