Odisha News Insight

Indian Telly Awards 2015: Karan Patel, Kapil Sharma Winners

Karan PatelMumbai, Nov 30: The Indian Telly Awards 2015 signalled the blurring lines between the big and small screen. Bollywood actors Poonam Dhillon, Raj Babbar as well its new entrant Kapil Sharma, along with television actors Karan Patel, Devoleena Bhattacharjee and Sriti Jha emerged as big winners at the 14th edition of the event.

The award ceremony was sparkling with the glitz and glamour of the stars at Chitrakoot Grounds, Andheri West here for the event on Saturday night. Kapil, who made his Bollywood debut this year with “Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon”, clinched the trophy in category “Talk Show Host”, while his show “Comedy Nights with Kapil” won the Best Comedy Show trophy.

The mushy scenes and romantic moments by lead onscreen pairs Raman and Ishita (played by Karan Patel and Divyanka Tripathi) from “Ye Hai Mohabbatein” as well as Abhi-Pragya (played by Shabbir Ahluwalia and Sriti Jha) from “Kumkum Bhagya” won Best Jodi.

Devoleena, who plays Gopi in “Saath Nibhaana Saathiya”, shared her trophy for the Best Actress in a Lead Role with Sriti for “Kumkum Bhagya”. And Karan, who broke hearts of millions of his female fans by getting married earlier this year, scooped the Best Actor in a Lead Role for “Ye Hai Mohabbatein”.

Poonam’s portrayal of Sharda in “Ekk Nayi Pehchan” and Raj Babbar’s role in “Pukaar” was appreciated with the award in Supporting Role (Drama) category. The Best Anchor award went to Manish Paul for “Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa”, while Radhika Madan and Priyanshu Jora took home trophy for as Best Fresh New Face for “Meri Aashiqui Tumse Hi” and “Tu Mera Hero” respectively.

ACP Pradyuman and his team have still kept a firm grip on the small screen, as their thrilling entertainer “CID” won the trophy in Best Weekender Show. Indian telly’s controversial show “Bigg Boss 8” and megastar Amitabh Bachchan’s game show “Kaun Banega Crorepati” emerged as the Best Game Shows.

The event was graced by names like Divyanka Tripathi, Gracy Singh, Shamita Shetty, Kabir Khan, Mini Mathur, Shweta Tiwari, Shaan, Sneha Wagh, Vishal Singh amongst others. The evening was a perfect mix of music and drama.

The award ceremony will be aired on &TV in December. (IANS)

Leave a comment