Odisha News Insight

India beat South Korea 4-1 in Penalties, win Bronze

India-Korea-BronzeIndia produced a brilliant display of Hockey to beat South Korea 4-1 in the penalties to win a bronze medal at the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in Ipoh. The match into the penalty shootout after it ended in a 2-2 draw at the end of regulation time.

Goalkeeper PR Sreejesh once again turned out to be the hero making as many as three saves. For India, Akashdeep Singh, Sardar Singh, Rupinderpal Singh and Birender Lakra in the penalty shootout. Earlier, in the regulation time, Nikkin Thimmaiah (10th minute) and Satbir Singh (22nd) scored the goals for India, while Korea scored from penalty corners converted by You Hyosik (20th) and Nam Hyunwoo (29th).

The bronze medal came as a morale booster for the Indian team and its new Chief Coach Paul van Ass, who took over from Terry Walsh barely a month ago. India had drew with Korea 2-2 in the group stage, while lost to New Zealand 1-2 and Malaysia 2-3. They bounced back to beat Canada 5-3 and Australia 4-2 to book a place in the 3rd place play-off.

Meanwhile, New Zealand beat Australia 3-1 in the penalties to win the title for the second time. They were locked at 2-2 at the end of regulation period. Goalkeeper Devon Manchester  was the hero of the match. Andy Hayward (5th minute, 58th) scored New Zealand’s both goals while Australia scored through Jacob Whetton (50th) and Nicholas Budgeon (60th).

Canada scored a 3-1 victory in the penalty shootout over hosts Malaysia to finish 5th in the tournament.

Leave a comment