Odisha News Insight

Virat Kohli named ICC Cricketer of the Year

ONI Bureau: Indian Skipper Virat Kohli got a big wedding gift, as he swept the ICC Cricket Awards 2017. Kohli won both ‘ICC Cricketer of the Year’ and ‘ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year’ awards.

Kohli was also named Captain of both ICC Test and ODI Teams – a rare honour for an Indian cricketer to receive windfall of awards by the ICC.

As India finished at the top of the ICC Test Rankings, Kohli scored 2,203 Test runs at 77.80 (8 hundreds), 1,818 ODI runs at 82.63 (7 hundreds), and 299 T20I runs at a strike rate of 153.

Kohli was awarded the ‘Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy’ as the ‘ICC Cricketer of the Year’ apart from winning the ‘ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year’. Steve Smith has been named the ‘ICC Test Cricket of the Year’.

Yuzvnedra Chahal won the ‘T20I Performance of the Year’ award for his incredible haul of 6/25 against England in Bengaluru.

ICC ODI Team of the Year:

David Warner, Australia; Rohit Sharma, India; Virat Kohli (Captain), India; Babar Azam, Pakistan; AB de Villiers, South Africa; Quinton de Kock (WK), South Africa; Ben Stokes, England; Trent Boult, New Zealand; Hasan Ali, Pakistan; Rashid Khan, Afghanistan; Jasprit Bumrah, India.

ICC Test Team of the Year:

Dean Elgar, South Africa, David Warner, Australia, Virat Kohli (Captain), India, Steve Smith, Australia, Cheteshwar Pujara, India; Ben Stokes, England; Quinton de Kock (WK), South Africa; Ravichandran Ashwin, India; Mitchell Starc, Australia; Kagiso Rabada, South Africa; James Anderson, England.