Odisha News Insight

Naveen to retain his Hinjli Assembly Seat

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today vacated the Bijepur assembly seat in Baragrah district and retained his home turf Hinjili constituency. Patnaik, who became the chief minister of the state for the record fifth term had won assembly polls from both Hinjili and Bijepur assembly seats.

In his resignation letter to the speaker of the Odisha assembly he expressed his gratitude and immensely thanked the people of Bijepur for all their love and support. This announcement came today after rolling out a special package for Bijepur constituency on 30 May 2019.

The BJD supremo had earlier decided to contest the polls from Bijepur after he was approached by the leaders of Western Odisha to fight the polls in the region and defeated Sanat Kumar Gartia of BJP, with a margin of 56,000 votes.

This is for the first time Patnaik contested the assembly election from two seats. The Chief Minister has been representing Hinjili in Ganjam district since 2000, when he decided to confine himself to state politics having served as a Union Minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee-led government.

Odisha News Insight
Leave a comment