Odisha News Insight

Raghubar Das sworn-in as Jharkhand CM

Raghubar-DasFive-time BJP MLA from Jamshedpur East and RSS ideologue Raghubar Das has been sworn-in as the first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand. He took oath at the Birsa Munda Football Stadium in Ranchi.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah, who were supposed to attend the swearing-in, failed to make it due to bad weather conditions. However, PM Modi congratulated Raghubar Das on Twitter.

Jharkhand, which witnessed 9 governments and 3 President’s Rules in the last 14 years, got a majority government for the first time. BJP won 37 seats, while its ally AJSU Party won 5 seats. Together, they won 42 seats in the 81-member Odisha Assembly.

Nilkanth Singh Munda, Chandreswar Prasad Singh, Louis Marandi (all BJP) and Chandraprakash Choudhary (AJSU Party) were also sworn-in as cabinet ministers. Parliamentary Affairs Minister M Venkaiah Naidu was present at the swearing-in ceremony.

Leave a comment