Odisha News Insight

Nine Armed Maoists surrender in Koraput

Nine armed Maoists surrendered in Odisha’s Koraput district on Saturday, police said. The rebels were members of the Koraput Division of Andhra-Odisha Border Special Zonal Committee (AOBSZC) of the outlawed Communist Party of India-Maoist.

They surrendered before police in the district headquarter town of Koraput, about 500 km from state capital Bhubaneswar. Before joining the CPI-Maoist, they were active members of the local Chasi Mulia Adivasi Sangh (CMAS) an association of peasants, bonded labourers and tribals, Inspector General of Police (south western range) Yashwant Jethwa told.

They are suspected of involvement in Maoist crimes in Narayanpatna and Bandhugaon area of the district, he said.
They told police they were disillusioned by the anti-tribal and anti-development activities of the Maoists. Maoists are active in more than half of Odisha’s 30 districts. Koraput is considered one of their strongholds. (IANS)

Leave a comment