Odisha News Insight

Odisha approves two Major Projects of Berhampur Development Authority

New CS Aditya Padhi  (2)Bhubaneswar, Dec 24: Two major projects of Berhampur Development Authority namely Berhampur North City and Eco Retreat hub at Gopalpur  got in principle approval of the State Level Empowered Committee held under the Chairmanship of Chief Secretary Sri Aditya Parsad Padhi in secretariat conference hall yesterday afternoon.

The project was proposed to be implemented through Comprehensive Development Plan (CDP)-Infrastructure Development Fund CIDF scheme.  Chief Secretary Sri Padhi directed H & UD dept to guide other major ULBs  of Odisha included under AMRUT yojana to have similar projects. Chief Secretary also advised the department to prepare the projects on realistic assessment of the people’s need.

It may be pertinent here to mention here that the major towns like Balasore, Baripada, Bhadrak, Berhampur, Bbubneswar, Cuttack, Puri, Rourkela and Sambalpur have been included under AMRUT Yojana. Housing & Urban Development department has taken up various water supply, sewerage, drainage, urban transport and green park projects in these towns.

Further, the Chief Secretary directed the department to find out the unutilized land already allotted to various Govt and Non-Govt agencies in different ULBs. Sri Padhi also directed the department to make lay out plan mandatory before approval of building plan in ULBs.

Available data shows that Berhampur North City project has been proposed to be developed over an area of 101 acers in Sitalapalli  mouza of Konisi Tahasil of Ganjam District. The estimated cost for initial development of physical infrastructure and public amenities has been around 113 cr.

The other project approved in the meeting is the Eco-retreat hub at Gopalpur. The project has been proposed to be developed over 47 acers of  land in Udayapur and Venkatraipur mouza under same Tahasil at the estimated cost of Rs40 cr for development of physical infrastructure and the beach front of the Bay of Bengal.

The Development Commissioner,  Sri R.Balakrishanan, Principal Secretary Water Resources Sri P.K. Jena, Principal Secretary Forest & Environment Sri S.C. Mohapatra, Secretary Housing & Urban Development Sri G. Mathivathanan, Collector Ganjam Sri Prem Chandra Choudhury, Secretary BDA Smt Dipti Mohapatra along with senior officers from concerned departments participated in deliberations.

Leave a comment