Odisha News Insight

Odisha beat Saurashtra in Ranji Trophy, Stay in Elite Group

Odisha-SaurashtraOdisha registered their third win in the Ranji Trophy in the last league match against Saurashtra at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack. With this win, Odisha made sure that they stay in the elite group, while Saurashtra relegated to the Plate Division (Group C). Odisha finished 5th in Group B with this win.

Chasing a victory target of 283, which looked almost impossible because of the wicket conditions, Govind Podder (64) and Anurag Sarangi (83) provided a solid platform to Odisha, which eventually led to their victory. They reached 283/8 and won the match by 2 wickets. Abhilash Mallick scored 21. Trivedi took four wickets.

The match took many twists and turns after the new ball was taken by Saurashtra. Odisha were in danger of losing the match at one stage. But, Biplab Samantray (19), Basant Mohanty (10*) and Deepak Behera (21*) batted well to see their team through. Chirag Jani was declared ‘Man of the Match’.

In Ranji Trophy 2014-15 season, Odisha defeated Haryana in Rohtak and Punjab in Mohali earlier. Hoowever, they had lost to Rajasthan, Delhi and Gujarat. Their matches against Maharashtra and Vidarbha ended in draw.

Brief Scores:

Saurashtra 218 (Chirag Jani 99*, Jogiyani 21, Pujara 20; Basant Mohanty 4/40, Deepak Behera 2/38, Alok Mangaraj 4/57) & 152 (D Jadeja 24, Pujara 39*; Basant Mohanty 3/35, Deepak Behera 3/29, Alok Mangaraj 3/51).

Odisha 88 (Paresh Patel 27; Unadkat 3/33, Sudeep Tyagi 5/24) & Odisha   (Girija Rout 22, Govind Podder 64, Anurag Sarangi 83, Abhilash Mallick 21, Deepak Behera 21*; Trivedi 4/45, Unadkat 2/65).

Leave a comment