Odisha News Insight

Odisha hold Maharashtra to Draw in Ranji Trophy, get 1 Point

Ranji-Trophy-OdishaOdisha played yet another draw match in Ranji Trophy 2015-16 by failing to dominate Maharashtra. They played a similar draw against Vidarbha in the first match. In both matches, Odisha conceded first innings lead and had to be content with just one point each.

Maharashtra, which scored 281 in the first innings, declared their second innings at 289/4. Kedar Jadhav remained unbeaten on 100. Swapnil Gugale (71) and Ankit Bawne (44) were the other top scorers. Basant Mohanty took two wickets.

In the second innings, Odisha finished at 129/5. Girija Rout (31), Anurag Sarangi (28) and Pratik Das (26*) were the top scorers. They tried to chase the victory target of 304 and lost quick wickets. That forced them to settle for a draw. Anupam Sanklecha took two wickets. Odisha had scored 267 runs in the first innings, conceding a lead of 14 runs.

Leave a comment