Odisha News Insight

Odisha hold Vidarbha to Draw in Ranji Trophy, earn a Point

Ranji-Trophy-OdishaDespite being on back foot from Day 1, Odisha managed to salvage a draw against Vidarbha in Ranji Trophy. Odisha earned a point, while Vidarbha got three points because of first innings lead.

In the second innings, after follow-on, Odisha made sure not to lose all wickets and finished at 230/6. Anurag Sarangi was the top scorer with 92, while Girija Rout (29), Natraj Behera (24), Biplab Samantray (34) and Pratik Das (39*) were the other contributors. Akshay Wakhare took five wickets.

Debutant Wicket-keeper Rajesh Dhupar failed in both innings. He could score just 0 and 1. He also conceded 8 byes during Vidarbha’s first innings although he was instrumental in two dismissals (one catch and one stumping). It would be interesting to see whether he gets a second chance or another debutant P Roshan Kumar Rao will replace him in the next Ranji tie.

Leave a comment