Odisha News Insight

Panchayat Polls: BJD on Top with 473 ZP Seats, BJP 297, Cong in 3rd spot

panchayat pollsThe final results of elections to 846 zilla parishad seats in Odisha, declared by the State Election Commission (SEC) on Sunday, put the BJD top position by grabbing 473 Zilla Parishad zones while the BJP retained the second position with 297 seats, a sharp improvement from its tally of 36 in the 2012 elections.

Congress slipped to third position with 60 seats which won 129 seats in 2012. Independent and other candidates have managed to bag 16 zones. Out of total 16, CPI bags 2 seats, CPIM, JMM and Amo Odisha managed to bag one seats each.

Out of total 853 ZP zones, election reportedly cancelled in Chitrakonda-7, Chitrakonda-8 ZP zones in Malkangiri district, Komna-2 ZP zone in Nuapada district, Gania-20 ZP zone in Nayagarh district.

Though elections were held for 849 ZP zones while results of 846 were declared today. Results of three other zones, one each from Cuttack, Bolangir and Ganjam district, have been put on hold for various reasons.

It is to be noted that the BJD had swept the 2012 panchayat polls by winning 651 seats. Its seats have decreased to 473 while BJP won 297 seats. The BJP had won 36 seats in 2012. Congress, which won 129 seats in 2012, has managed just 60 seats.

Leave a comment