Odisha News Insight

Prestigious Asutosh Mookerjee Memorial Award to KIIT VC

KIIT-VCBhubaneswar, Jan 15: Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA) has conferred the Asutosh Mookerjee Memorial Award on Prof. P. P. Mathur, Vice Chancellor, KIIT University. He received the honour at the hands of Shri Narendra Modi, Hon’ble Prime Minister of India at the inaugural session of the 103rd Indian Science Congress in Mysuru on January 3, 2016.

The Award carries a gold medal. It is the most prestigious award of ISCA to honour distinguished scientists of the country. Prof. Mathur was given the award for his key role in the development of science and technology, specifically in the area of biochemistry and molecular biology. The honour is given in memory of Sir Asutosh Mookerjee, who was the first General President of ISCA and a great educationist of the country.