Odisha News Insight

SPMG – A Successful Strategy for Investments

Odisha-Govt-LogoThe State Project Monitoring Group (SPMG) constituted by Government of Odisha under the Chairmanship of Chief Secretary has emerged as a successful strategy in expeditious removal of the bottlenecks for grounding of investment projects both in Govt and private sectors.

The discussions in  the  SPMG meeting held under Chairmanship of Chief Secretary Sri Gokul Chandra Pati  last Wednesday has revealed this kind of expeditious disposal over which the project developers and implementing  agencies have expressed their satisfaction. CMD IPICOL Sri Gagan Kumar Dhal presented the updates regarding progress of the projects under implementation.

The issues relating to Gandhamardan-B mining Project of OMC, Daitari Mining Project of OMC, South Kaliapani Mining Project of OMC,  RSB Transmission Pvt Ltd. J.K. laxmi Cement, Baitarani Power Project Pvt Ltd., Distribution System of Anadapur Barrage Project, Jambhira Left Main Canal System of Subernarekha IP, Betanati Bracnh Canal System of Subarnarekha Irrigation Project, Baisinga Branch Canal System of Subarnarekha Irrigation Project and Jambhira earth dam of Subarnarekha Irrigation Project were discussed in the meeting.

Available data shows many of the issues relating to forest diversion, land acquisition, handing over of land by IDCO, exemption of entry tax on purchase of plant and machinery for casting unit, development of road infrastructure connecting the project site, DGPS survey, geo-referencing of forest land and allotment of non-forest land for compensatory afforestation etc have been resolved and expedited.

Reviewing various types of issues raised by the project developers, Chief Secretary Sri Pati has advised CMD IPICOL Sri Gagan Kumar Dhal to link up SPMG with State Level Single Window Clearance Authority for more expeditious disposal of the applications and removal of bottlenecks. IPICOL has also been advised to compile the pending issues in different departments to a single platform so that those can be addressed through collective deliberations.

The Development Commissioner Sri U.N. Behera, Additional Chief Secretary Dr Taradatt, Principal Secretary Energy Sri S.C Mohapatra, Principal Secretary Water Resources Sri P.K. Jena, Principal Secretary Industry Sri Sanjeeb Chopra, CMD IDCO Sri Vishal Dev, General manager IPICOL Sri Kalyan Mohanty along with other senior officers from concerned departments participated in the discussions.

Leave a comment